If you’re going to San Francisco…

In no particular order

  1. Get a cask ale at Magnolia brewery
  2. Take a walk down Castro street while stopping to hear some interesting conversations
  3. Taste some Italian cheese at AG Ferrari cheese shop (in Castro)
  4. Catch a game at AT&T Park
  5. Relax in Japan Town
  6. Take it all in at Union Square (while I was there I had a great nap and woke up to a bum getting lyrical with the statue there “Hey you, get off of my cloud”)
  7. Shoot way too many photos of the Golden Gate Bridge
  8. Watch the kitesurfers and windsurfers cruising under the bridge
  9. Make a trip to Napa (I liked St. Supery the best)
  10. Relax in Crissy Field
  11. Try to find the houses where Janis Joplin and the Grateful Dead lived
  12. Stay with good friends. Thanks Mo and Tim and Tee!
  13. Play Pac Man at the Bus Station bar
  14. Explore the quality supermarkets
  15. Spend some time in Los Altos enjoying excellent food. This Greek place was some of the best appetizers I’ve had in the US.
  16. Don’t eat at Nick’s restaurant in Fisherman’s wharf (thankfully I learned this when I suffered a bout of food poisoning at the age of 12–I saw and remembered the very table we sat at.
  17. Don’t buy camera gear anywhere near the wharf. A lens the salesman was trying to sell me started at $499 and the final offer as I left the shop was $99. In some ways, it was kind of nice because I felt like I was back in China!
  18. Eat at In and Out Burger (I guess you can do that one anywhere in California)
  19. See the Xanadu Art Gallery housed in a brick building built by Frank Lloyd Wright. Their is a staircase like the one at the Guggenheim in New York.
  20. Drive down the crookedest street in the world
  21. Enjoy the free samples and gourmet food shops at Embarcadero
  22. View the Golden Gate Bridge from the Marin highlands
  23. Take a day trip to Sausalito

I could go on and on, and I think that is what so great about San Francisco. There is an incredible amount of things to see and do.

For those still reading, there will be a couple more posts. Thank you all for your interest throughout the past six months!

Some additions from readers:

1. look for a great white shark in the bay

2. find the full house house

3. get nose pierced or get a strange tattoo in Haight Ashbury (I didnt do this one but put my friends up to it)

4. get chocolate at the wharf

5. ummm hellllooooAlcatraz!!!

One Response to “If you’re going to San Francisco…”

  1. scholiast Says:

    Thanks! I’ll keep this list somewhere in my travel guide 🙂 I’m leaving for San Francisco next Friday…

Leave a Reply

