Archive for February 1st, 2007

Tailor Made

February 1, 2007

With Courtney’s departure imminent, we decided to take a few days to relax in Hoi An, a UNESCO world heritage site in the central part of Vietnam.  We had read and heard about the tailoring industry that the town has become famous for, but on the bus ride we each casually mentioned that we probably we would not purchase anything.  Funds were getting tight, right?

On our third day in Hoi An, we weren’t shopping for clothes but rather a bag to put them in!  Each of us sampled having an item or two made before deciding it was worthwhile to get more.  All told, I have a new suit, a new jacket, 5 shirts, four ties, sandals, and a new pair of dress shoes.  How much for all this?  Just about $300.  The experience of the process is great too.  I had Courtney, two Vietnamese girls, and the tailor sizing me up during the various fittings for my clothes.  Even better, the company has my measurements in their database just in case I decide I’d like more stuff. 

When we weren’t shopping, we biked around the town visting museums, old houses, and pagodas.   Of course we also sampled some of the regional dishes that Hoi An is famous for.  My favorite was cao lao which you can read about here.  

Hoi An was a pleasant place with good food, nice clothes and a laid back feel–they’ve even outlawed touting! (a policy that would be welcome in the rest of Vietnam)  I’d recommend it to anyone making a visit to Vietnam.